About This Department

Department: Pharmacy Practice
Insitution: Auburn University
  Auburn, AL

Founded in 1885, the Auburn University’s Harrison School of Pharmacy (HSOP) is the only publicly funded School of Pharmacy in Alabama. HSOP offers the Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) degree, as well as graduate degrees in Pharmaceutical Sciences for approximately 650 students across physical campuses in both Auburn and Mobile, AL. The Auburn campus matriculates approximately 125 PharmD students per year, and the Mobile campus matriculates approximately 25 PharmD students per year. The Department of Pharmacy Practice is based on the Auburn campus with clinical education centers located throughout the state. Approximately 40 full-time faculty maintain practice sites in Auburn-Opelika, Huntsville, Tuscaloosa, Mobile, Montgomery, and Birmingham, AL as well as Columbus, GA. In addition, over 225 affiliate faculty participate in the School’s programs. The Department provides leadership in the delivery of Doctor of Pharmacy curriculum, provision of clinical services, and oversight over numerous residency programs statewide. Strategic partnerships have allowed the Department to develop and expand innovative practice models, and new initiatives provide exciting growth opportunities surrounding translational and practice-based research.